Put it into words. 言葉にして。



いつもと同じ、求めています。

I’m really excited because I just ordered a book about a Western woman who has lived in Japan for 30+ years and married into a Japanese family.  Since a lot of time was spent for me going 「日本に住んだらいいなあ~」I think it’s going to be a book I really like.  I have definitely started to notice the difference between individual and group-centered societies as I study more group-centered ones, and I am really hoping for a chance to finally experience Japan like I’ve yearned to all these years.  I’m kind of surprised at myself for being this passionate about the same thing for such a long time; I think that’s enough for me to believe that this is truly passion.  I’m planning to apply to study abroad next year, and I really hope that somehow I can put that kind of passion on paper in a way that it will be clear to other people.  When I was younger, everybody thought that I was going to be a writer, but I really feel quite limited in what I am able to express.

 

And then I look at my lack of communicative competence in Japanese and it doesn’t seem like my English is so bad.

It’s not like my Japanese is terrible, but it needs work.

Which is why I have to get into this program!  I’m always yearning for a chance like that…I’m not sure what my life is going to look like yet.  I want to be fulfilled, but I don’t know what’s going to be fulfilling.  So I want to find that thing that will be fulfilling…I’m happy now but I don’t want to do the same thing forever.  College is a short experience though, so for better or worse I really don’t even have that much time before things will change.

したいことができたらいいなあぁ。

Leave a Reply

