Put it into words. 言葉にして。



RTK Day 15

mmmkay, so a few things:

1) From this moment on I am absolutely putting the stories on my RTK cards in Anki, because it’s getting to the point where there are so many reviews that I need things to go a little faster.  I haven’t studied anything new today because I have been killing myself trying to do the reviews and I’ve got like 700 of them to do.

2) My comprehension is improving!!!  I read bits of magazine articles in a magazine directed at otaku Japanese teenagers, without furigana except in one of the manga that ran in it serially, and I am getting so much better!  That made me super super excited.  I can’t believe that I changed things so much in 15 days!!!  *sparkles and rainbows and unicorns and all that*  (In case you’re wondering I didn’t just use those magazines but other things with other sets of specialized vocab, such as my groovy vintage Japanese crochet pattern magazines, so it’s not just that I have a familiarity with the terminology.  Seriously, I’ve had those otaku Japanese teen magazines since I lived in another state ~9 years ago, and no matter how much you just stare at the kanji, it doesn’t make a difference in your comprehension; trust me.)

And this leads me to 3) if you need a little motivation, try looking at something that’s focused on a subject you enjoy.  It really helped me get my excitement level back up.

So I’m just gonna go ahead and try to fix up my cards, and I’ll report back later to say how that is working for me.

Leave a Reply

