Put it into words. 言葉にして。



RTK Day 2

Well, I went around looking for an SRS to help me remember the kanji.  The textbook that I am using in formal classes for Japanese recommended the site smart.fm, but for me personally I feel like it’s got too many features and I needed something “cleaner” to use.  Anki is a really nice SRS program with lots of customization features but fewer visual bells and whistles which kind of distract me from my learning.  Thankfully a friend of mine told me about his success with it.  It’s free, and there are even youtube tutorials on how to use it that are very easy to follow. (as a child of the Internet age, usually I just like trying to use something instead of reading a long manual, so youtube videos were a great alternative to a long manual)  For those of you who are into that sort of thing, it is also open source.

Right now I’m just trying not to rush ahead of myself, but since I have a lot of free time on my hands this month even allowing for things that must be done in preparation for my return to college, I am so tempted to try to lay out a plan that will have me learning kanji very quickly.

Welllll, I suppose that if I can spend 3 hours a day at college focused on the same subject, I could do the same with kanji, riiiiiiiight?  Haha, it’s just good to be interested in something intensely enough that I don’t wanna stop.  🙂  I guess what I’ll do is just see what works for me personally in terms of retention.  Retention matters more than speed, really, but I really want to make sure that I’m ready for the next level Japanese class that I’ll be taking and that my attempts to learn kanji properly will not be foiled by formal classes.

Of course I’ll be letting you know how this goes.

Leave a Reply

